Technological advancements have dominated and transformed the world that we live in; from the Internet to genetic engineering, to mobile phones and personal computers.

That is why this year, the Great British Entrepreneur Awards introduced the ‘Tech 100’, supported by Kingston Smith; a list that acknowledges the trailblazers behind the technology that is continuously redefining the way that we all live and work.

These 100 entrepreneurs were automatically entered in to the Great British Entrepreneur Awards; from which five entrepreneurs have been shortlisted for each category.

Nick Winters, tech sector lead partner at Kingston Smith, said: “We are delighted to sponsor this initiative. The technology sector has always been viewed as a key area for entrepreneurs to succeed, and the opportunities continue to flow for those who are keen to triumph. These awards dovetail well with our own values and ethos of advising entrepreneurial businesses on achieving their full potential.”

The awards will culminate at a gala final taking place on Tuesday 22 November in the Ballrooms of the prestigious, Lancaster London Hotel.

The shortlist:

Education Technology

Dream Learners (Lucy Rome and Deena Wiseman)

Tech will save us (Bethany Koby)

Pobble (Jon Smith)

DoodleMaths (Tom Minor and Nicola Chilman)

TeachPitch (Aldo de Pape)


Financial Technology

DueDil (Damian Kimmelman)

Seedrs (Jeff Lynn and Carlos Silva)

GoCardless (Matt Robinson and Hiroki Takeuchi)

MarketInvoice (Anil Stocker and Ilya Kondrashov)

Nutmeg (Nick Hungerford and Neil Atherton)


Health Technology

Babylon (Ali Parsa)

Hometouch (Jamie Wilson)

Skin Analytcs (Neil Daly)

Oxford Immunotec (Peter Wrighton-Smith)

Zesty (James Balmain)


Digital Media & Entertainment

Deeper Blue (Jeremy Garbett and Laurence Croneen)

Shazam (Chris Barton, Philip Inghelbrecht, Avery Wang and Dhiraj Mukherjee)

Espirit Digital (Peter Livesey and James Brenner)

Vertigo Films (James Richardson, Allan Niblo, Nick Love and Rupert Preston)

Captify (Dominic Joseph and Adam Ludwin)



Feral Interactive (David Stephen and Ian Bullock, Edwin Smith, Andrew Wood)

Jagex (Ian Gower, Andrew Gower, Paul Gower and Constant Tedder)

Green Man Gaming (Paul Sulyok)

Rebellion Developments (Jason Kingsley and Chris Kingsley)

Splash Damage (Paul Wedgwood, Richard Jolly and Arnout van Meer)


IOT/Smart Home

CyberHomes (Andy Mack and Ion Smith)

Green Energy Options (Simon Anderson and Patrick Caiger-Smith)

Eseye (Ian Marsden)

nCube (Phil Steele)

Flexeye (Justin Anderson)



Direct Online Services (Will Rees)

Joeandsephs (Joe, Jackie and Adam Sopher)

Appearhere (Ross Bailey)

Petshop (Lexi Tamasan)

VE Interactive (David J. Brown)


App Development

Hedgehog Lab (Sarat Pediredla and Mark Forster)

Somo (Nick Hynes and Carl Uminski)

Fanstudio (Andrei Buta)

Kwalee (David Darling)

DCSL Software (Nick Thompson)


Digital Advertising and Marketing

Essence (Andrew Shebbeare, Matt Isaacs and Andy Bonsall)

Emoderation and Polpeo (Tamara Littleton)

AnalogFolk (Bill Brock and Matt Dyke)

GGMR (Sheena Gill)

Passion Digital (Mike Grindy)


Cyber Security

SQR Systems (Dr. Nithin Thomas)

Becrypt (Bernard Parsons)

Wandera (Eldar Tuvey and Roy Tuvey)

SentryBay (Dave Waterson)

Avecto (Mark Austin)