By Jonathan Davies

Six Nations - the year of rugby in the UK

Wales head coach Warren Gatland has made two changes to the side that beat Ireland on the weekend for their potential Six Nations winning match against Italy on Sunday.

The majority of the team, whose incredible defensive display kept Wales' hopes of winning the Six Nations alive, is unchanged, bar two forced replacements in the front row.

Props Gethin Jenkins and Samson Lee both left the field injured against Ireland and are replaced by Rob Evans at loosehead and Aaron Jarvis at tighthead. Lee was forced off with what looked like a very nasty Achilles injury less than 20 minutes into the game, and Jenkins didn't return for the second-half after picking up a hamstring injury.

There are more changes on the bench, with Rhys Gill and Scott Andrews filling the spots left by Evans and Jarvis. Hooker Ken Owens returns to the Wales squad after injury, replacing the injured Richard Hibbard.

And there is a surprise inclusion among the replacement for scrum-half Gareth Davies, who replaces Mike Phillips.

"Obviously it's disappointing for Gethin and Samson, but Rob and Aaron stepped up well last weekend and we expect the same on Saturday," said head coach Warren Gatland.

Significant margin

Level on points with England and Ireland, but with a much worse points difference, Gatland said that by playing first on Sunday, Wales have to put down a strong marker to their rivals.

"The challenge to us is to go to Italy and win, and try and win by a significant margin, but we know that's an extremely tough ask and the first job will be to simply get the result," Gatland said.

"Italy build their confidence around the scrum and line-out drive and that's an area we are going to have to compete strongly in at the start of the match."

Ireland travel to winless Scotland and England welcome an unpredictable France side to Twickenham in the final game on Sunday.

Backs: Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon) George North (Northampton Saints), Liam Williams (Scarlets); Jonathan Davies (ASM Clermont Auvergne), Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro); Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Webb (Ospreys).

Forwards: Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys); Luke Charteris (Racing Metro), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys); Dan Lydiate (Ospreys), Sam Warburton (captain, Cardiff Blues), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Replacements: Ken Owens (Scarlets), Rhys Gill (Saracens), Scott Andrews (Cardiff Blues), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Scott Williams (Scarlets).