By Daniel Hunter

Business Secretary Vince Cable has today (Thursday) announced the appointment of two new Members and the reappointment of three Members to the Governing Board of the UK’s innovation agency, the Technology Strategy Board.

The newly-appointed board members are Douglas Richard and Hazel Moore, who will serve on the Board up to 30 June 2015. The reappointed board members are Sir Christopher Snowden, Sara Murray and Stewart Davies who will serve for a further period of three years, also up to 30 June 2015.

Business Secretary Vince Cable said:

“The Technology Strategy Board has an important role in our plans to create the best conditions for balanced and sustainable growth by stimulating advancing technology development and innovation. Doug Richard and Hazel Moore will build on the strong mix of business talent, insight and experience on the Governing Board.”

Universities and Science Minister David Willetts said;

“Doug Richard and Hazel Moore will bring a breadth of experience to their roles on the Board of the Technology Strategy Board. I am looking forward to working alongside them and continuing to work closely with Sir Christopher Snowden, Sara Murray and Stewart Davies. The challenges now facing the Technology Strategy Board are to develop the package of support we offer for our small and medium sized firms and to continue to boost business investment in technology and innovation to ensure UK success in the global economy.”

The Chair of the Technology Strategy Board, Phil Smith, said:

“It’s great to be able to welcome such experienced and knowledgeable new members to the Board and to retain some existing strengths with the reappointments. The Technology Strategy Board is the UK’s innovation agency and so it’s essential that we have a rich and diverse pool of business expertise on the Governing Board. It’s our job to help ensure the organisation builds on its current strengths and continues to encourage innovation and business growth. I would also like to express my deep thanks to the outgoing members, Anne Glover and John Brown for their long and distinguished service.”

Join us on
Follow @freshbusiness