By Jonathan Davies

2015 - the year of rugby in the UK

Sam Warburton will captain Wales for a record-breaking 34th time against Ireland on Saturday as Warren Gatland names an unchanged side.

Warburton equalled the record set by Ryan Jones of 33 appearances as captain in the 20-13 win over France in Paris.

"Saturday is a fantastic achievement and honour for Sam," said head coach Warren Gatland.

"He has developed into the role fantastically and is a modern day professional. He is a role model that will continue to get better."

The only changes to the squad come in the replacements and see Scarlets prop Rob Evans replace the injured Paul James and second-row Jake Ball comes in for Bradley Davies.

A win against Six Nations leaders Ireland in Cardiff would give Wales real hopes of winning the championship in the same manner as 2013, when they lost the opening game but went on to win the tournament.

Ireland are the only team able to win a Grand Slam and a win against Wales would leave them hot favourites to win the championship on the final weekend.

Backs: Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon) George North (Northampton Saints), Liam Williams (Scarlets); Jonathan Davies (ASM Clermont Auvergne), Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro); Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Webb (Ospreys).

Forwards: Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets); Luke Charteris (Racing Metro), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys); Dan Lydiate (Ospreys), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, capt), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Replacements: Richard Hibbard (Gloucester), Rob Evans (Scarlets), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Mike Phillips (Racing Metro), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Scott Williams (Scarlets).