By Marcus Leach

Social networking giant Facebook has been forced into a public apology for the manner in which they rolled out their new face recognition system.

Facebook said they should have made users more aware of the global launch of their new 'Tag Suggestions' feature that automatically recognises faces of existing friends in photos.

Users have the right to switch the feature off, but the complaints stemmed from the fact users were not clearly made aware that the feature had been activated.

Facebook said that the system was intended to speed up the process of assigning a name to a picture, known as tagging.

Having introduced the system in America back in December 2010 Facebook have now launched it on a global scale.

There have long been calls from privacy experts claiming users should have greater control over who tags them, with calls for 'privacy by default' to be standard on all Facebook settings.

A Facebook spokesperson told the BBC that there had been "misconceptions" about what it does but apologised for not properly informing users.

"Tag Suggestions are only made to people when they add new photos to the site, and only friends are suggested," the spokesperson said to the BBC

"If for any reason someone doesn't want their name to be suggested, they can disable the feature in their privacy settings.

"We should have been more clear with people during the roll-out process when this became available to them," said the spokesperson.

Join us on
Follow @freshbusiness